Governors (Academy Councillors) are volunteers that use their skills to help to shape the school's ethos and direction, and are firmly committed to its future success.  

English Martyrs School is lucky to have a dedicated academy council that works hard to support the school in achieving the highest standards possible. They meet regularly to discuss the school's strategic direction and make important decisions that are in the best interests of all involved.  

The role of the Governing Body (Academy Council) is to: 

  • work with the school to ensure it delivers a high quality education 
  • with the Headteacher (who is responsible for day to day management), set the school's aims and policies 
  • provide strategic direction for the school 
  • act as a critical friend to the Headteacher 
  • ensure accountability 

Governors monitor the running of the school, including educational standards, finance and use of resources, overall direction and planning, curriculum and behaviour, staff appointments and training, and keeping everyone safe. 



Mr Rawlinson, our Chair of Governors, can be contacted c/o The Clerk to the Governors, Mrs Jackie Hunter, at the School Office. 

 For the attendance record for 2016-2017 please click here

Governors Code of Conduct

Review of Governance


Our School Governors (Academy Councillors) are:   

Foundation Governors 

Mr James Rawlinson (Chair) 

Mrs Annemarie Glover (Vice-chair) 

Mrs Sharon Katema 

Mr Keith Griffiths 

Monseigneur Canon David Smith 


Mrs Catherine  Flood 


Miss Danielle McGee 

Mrs Suzanne Kearford 


Mr Mark O’Brien